Noonan syndrome

Qu'est-ce que Noonan syndrome?

Une maladie génétique qui se présente avec des caractéristiques faciales inhabituelles et une petite taille. Les problèmes de santé associés à ce trouble comprennent l'eczéma, un retard de développement, une petite taille, un cou palmé, une sténose pulmonaire et des caractéristiques faciales uniques. Il s'agit d'une maladie génétique héréditaire, et une seule copie du gène muté dans chaque cellule suffit à provoquer le trouble.

Syndrome Synonymes
Pseudo-tourneur féminin Syndrome, Tourneur mâle Syndrome, Noonan syndrome, phénotype de Turner avec caryotype normal

Quelles sont les causes des changements génétiques Noonan syndrome?

Noonan syndromefait partie d'un groupe d'affections apparentées connues sous le nom de RASopathies. Les changements dans l'un des nombreux gènes autosomiques dominants provoquent la syndrome. Environ la moitié des cas sont dus à des mutations du gène PTPN11, et 10-15 % des cas supplémentaires sont dus à des mutations du gène SOS1. Les mutations des gènes RAF1 et RIT1 représentent environ 5% des cas. Et un autre 15-20% des cas présentent une cause inconnue. Les gènes PTPN11, SOS1, RAF1 et RIT1 sont chargés de fournir les instructions pour la fabrication des protéines nécessaires à la division et à la croissance cellulaires. Des mutations dans les gènes associés à Noonan syndrome font que cette protéine est active plus longtemps que la normale plutôt que de s'allumer et s'éteindre en réponse aux signaux cellulaires. Cela perturbe alors la régulation de la croissance cellulaire et conduit à des caractéristiques cliniques caractéristiques de Noonan syndrome.

Dans le cas d'une transmission autosomique dominante, un seul parent est porteur de la mutation du gène, et ils ont 50 % de chances de la transmettre à chacun de leurs enfants. Syndromes héritées dans une transmission autosomique dominante sont causées par une seule copie de la mutation du gène.


Gènes, emplacements et modes d'héritage
RRAS, 19q13.33 - Autosomique dominant

Numéro OMIM - 163950 (veuillez consulter la page OMIM pour les informations mises à jour)

Quels sont les principaux symptômes de Noonan syndrome?

Le principal symptômes de Noonan syndrome comprennent des traits caractéristiques du visage tels qu'un sillon profond entre le nez et la bouche, des yeux largement espacés qui sont souvent bleu pâle ou bleu-vert, et des oreilles basses tournées vers l'arrière. Une voûte élevée dans le toit de la bouche, une petite mâchoire inférieure et un excès de peau ou de sangle du cou sont également caractéristiques de la syndrome. Enfants avec Noonan syndrome ont souvent une taille et un poids normaux à la naissance, mais leur croissance ralentit avec le temps. Les individus avec le syndrome peut également avoir une poitrine enfoncée ou saillante.

Les cardiopathies congénitales peuvent également être un symptôme de Noonan syndrome, en particulier un rétrécissement de la valve qui contrôle le flux sanguin du cœur vers les poumons. Les individus peuvent également présenter une cardiomyopathie hypertrophique à secousses, qui agrandit et affaiblit le muscle cardiaque.

L'eczéma et les troubles de la coagulation sont également symptôme de Noonan syndrome entraînant des ecchymoses et des saignements de nez excessifs.

Noonan syndrome conduit à un retard de la puberté chez les adolescents de sexe masculin et à une possible infertilité liée à des testicules non descendus.

La plupart des individus avec Noonan syndrome sont d'intelligence normale, mais un retard de développement est un symptôme. Des problèmes de vision et d'audition sont également potentiels symptômes.

Comment quelqu'un se fait-il tester pour Noonan syndrome?

Les premiers tests de Noonan syndrome peut commencer par un dépistage par analyse faciale, en passant par le FDNA Telehealth plateforme de télégénétique, qui permet d'identifier les marqueurs clés de la syndrome et souligner la nécessité de tests supplémentaires. Une consultation avec un conseiller génétique puis un généticien suivra. 

Sur la base de cette consultation clinique avec un généticien, les différentes options pour les tests génétiques seront partagées et le consentement sera recherché pour des tests supplémentaires.

Informations médicales sur Noonan syndrome

Hoban et al., (2012) reported an infant with features of Noonan syndrome, but with a severe hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and a SHOC2 mutation. Cordeddu et al., (2009) had previously reported the same, but with in addition the loose anagen hair syndrome.
Note that some patients with SHOC2 and PTPN11 mutations (Ekvall et al., 2011) can have a severe phenotype, but without a lethal cardiomyopathy.
Gripp et al., (2013) reported a new patient and review the condition. Their patient also had loose anagen hair syndrome and myelofibrosis. Four out of 4 have had to date a structural cardiac anomaly and 80% have had hypotonia and macrocephaly. Skin hyperpigmentation, sparse lightly coloured hair and increased fine skin wrinkles are common. There is also relative megalencephaly and a benign external hydrocephalus. Severe craniosynostosis was documented in the case reported by Takenouchi et al., (2014). Two further patients were reported by Baldassarre et al., (2014). There was extremely different phenotypic expression in the severity of the cardiac lesion and the intellectual disability."

* This information is courtesy of the L M D.
If you find a mistake or would like to contribute additional information, please email us at: [email protected]

Soyez plus rapide et plus précis Diagnóstico Genético!

Plus de 250,000 patients analysés avec succès!
N'attendez pas des années pour un diagnostic. Agissez maintenant et gagnez un temps précieux.

Commencer ici!

"Notre chemin vers un diagnostic de maladie rare a été un voyage de 5 ans que je ne peux décrire que comme une tentative de faire un road trip sans carte. Nous ne connaissions pas notre point de départ. Nous ne connaissions pas notre destination. Maintenant nous avons de l'espoir. "

Image

Paula et Bobby
Parents de Lillie

Qu'est-ce que la FDNA Telehealth?

FDNA Telehealth est une entreprise de santé numérique de premier plan qui offre un accès plus rapide à une Analyse Génétique précise.

Dotée d'une technologie hospitalière recommandée par les plus grands généticiens, notre plateforme unique met les patients en contact avec des Experts En Génétique pour répondre à leurs questions les plus urgentes et clarifier toute préoccupation qu'ils pourraient avoir concernant leurs Symptômes.

Avantages de la FDNA Telehealth

Icône FDNA

Credibility

Notre plateforme est actuellement utilisée par plus de 70% des généticiens et a été utilisée pour diagnostiquer plus de 250,000 patients dans le monde.

Icône FDNA

Accessibilité

FDNA Telehealth fournit une analyse faciale et un dépistage en quelques minutes, suivi d'un accès rapide aux conseillers en génétique et aux généticiens.

Icône FDNA

Facilité d'utilisation

Notre processus transparent commence par un diagnostic initial en ligne par un conseiller en génétique et s'ensuit par des consultations avec des généticiens et des tests génétiques.

Icône FDNA

Précision et précision

Capacités et technologies avancées d'intelligence artificielle (IA) avec un taux de précision de 90% pour une meilleure précision analyse génétique.

Icône FDNA

La valeur pour
De l'argent

Accès plus rapide aux conseillers en génétique, aux généticiens, aux tests génétiques et au diagnostic. En moins de 24 heures si nécessaire. Économisez du temps et de l'argent.

Icône FDNA

Confidentialité et sécurité

Nous garantissons la meilleure protection de toutes les images et informations des patients. Vos données sont toujours sûres, sécurisées et cryptées.

La FDNA Telehealth peut vous rapprocher d'un diagnostic.
Planifiez une réunion de conseil ginitique en ligne dans les 72 heures!

EspañolDeutschPortuguêsFrançaisEnglish

Noonan syndrome

What is Noonan syndrome?

A genetic disorder that presents with unusual facial characteristics and short stature. Health conditions associated with this disorder include eczema, developmental delay, short stature, webbed neck, pulmonic stenosis, and unique facial features. It is an inherited genetic condition, and just one copy of the mutated gene in each cell is enough to cause the disorder.

Syndrome Synonyms
Female Pseudo-turner Syndrome, Male Turner Syndrome, Noonan syndrome, Turner Phenotype With Normal Karyotype

What gene changes cause Noonan syndrome?

Noonan syndrome is part of a group of related conditions known as RASopathies. Changes in one of several autosomal-dominant genes cause the syndrome. Around half of all cases are caused by mutations in the PTPN11 gene, with a further 10-15% of cases caused by SOS1 gene mutations. Mutations in the RAF1 and RIT1 genes are accounting for around 5% of cases. And a further 15-20% of cases present with cause unknown. The PTPN11, SOS1, RAF1, and RIT1 genes are responsible for providing the instructions for making proteins needed for cell division and growth. Mutations in the genes associated with Noonan syndrome cause this protein to be active longer than normal rather than switching on and off in response to cell signals. This then disrupts cell growth regulation and leads to characteristic clinical features of Noonan syndrome.

In the case of autosomal dominant inheritance just one parent is the carrier of the gene mutation, and they have a 50% chance of passing it onto each of their children. Syndromes inherited in an autosomal dominant inheritance are caused by just one copy of the gene mutation.


Genes, locations, and inheritance modes
RRAS, 19q13.33 - Autosomal Dominant

OMIM Number - 163950 (please check the OMIM page for updated information)

What are the main symptoms of Noonan syndrome?

The main symptoms of Noonan syndrome include characteristic facial features such as a deep groove between the nose and mouth, widely spaced eyes that are often pale blue or blue-green, and low-set ears rotated backward. A high arch in the roof of the mouth, a small lower jaw, and excess neck skin or webbing are also all characteristic of the syndrome. Children with Noonan syndrome are often both a normal length and weight at birth, but their growth slows over time. Individuals with the syndrome may also have a sunken or protruding chest.

Congenital heart disease can also be a symptom of Noonan syndrome, specifically a narrowing of the valve that controls blood flow from the heart to the lungs. Individuals may also present twitch hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, which enlarges and weakens the heart muscle.

Eczema and bleeding disorders are also a dominant symptom of Noonan syndrome leading to excessive bruising and nosebleeds.

Noonan syndrome leads to delayed puberty in male adolescents and possible infertility related to undescended testes.

Most individuals with Noonan syndrome are of normal intelligence, but a developmental delay is a common symptom. Vision and hearing problems are also potential symptoms.

How does someone get tested for Noonan syndrome?

The initial testing for Noonan syndrome can begin with facial analysis screening, through the FDNA Telehealth telegenetics platform, which can identify the key markers of the syndrome and outline the need for further testing. A consultation with a genetic counselor and then a geneticist will follow. 

Based on this clinical consultation with a geneticist, the different options for genetic testing will be shared and consent will be sought for further testing.   

Medical information on Noonan syndrome

Hoban et al., (2012) reported an infant with features of Noonan syndrome, but with a severe hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and a SHOC2 mutation. Cordeddu et al., (2009) had previously reported the same, but with in addition the loose anagen hair syndrome.
Note that some patients with SHOC2 and PTPN11 mutations (Ekvall et al., 2011) can have a severe phenotype, but without a lethal cardiomyopathy.
Gripp et al., (2013) reported a new patient and review the condition. Their patient also had loose anagen hair syndrome and myelofibrosis. Four out of 4 have had to date a structural cardiac anomaly and 80% have had hypotonia and macrocephaly. Skin hyperpigmentation, sparse lightly coloured hair and increased fine skin wrinkles are common. There is also relative megalencephaly and a benign external hydrocephalus. Severe craniosynostosis was documented in the case reported by Takenouchi et al., (2014). Two further patients were reported by Baldassarre et al., (2014). There was extremely different phenotypic expression in the severity of the cardiac lesion and the intellectual disability."

* This information is courtesy of the L M D.
If you find a mistake or would like to contribute additional information, please email us at: [email protected]

Get Faster and More Accurate Genetic Diagnosis!

More than 250,000 patients successfully analyzed!
Don't wait years for a diagnosis. Act now and save valuable time.

Start Here!

"Our road to a rare disease diagnosis was a 5-year journey that I can only describe as trying to take a road trip with no map. We didn’t know our starting point. We didn’t know our destination. Now we have hope."

Image

Paula and Bobby
Parents of Lillie

What is FDNA Telehealth?

FDNA Telehealth is a leading digital health company that provides faster access to accurate genetic analysis.

With a hospital technology recommended by leading geneticists, our unique platform connects patients with genetic experts to answer their most pressing questions and clarify any concerns they may have about their symptoms.

Benefits of FDNA Telehealth

FDNA icon

Credibility

Our platform is currently used by over 70% of geneticists and has been used to diagnose over 250,000 patients worldwide.

FDNA icon

Accessibility

FDNA Telehealth provides facial analysis and screening in minutes, followed by fast access to genetic counselors and geneticists.

FDNA icon

Ease of Use

Our seamless process begins with an initial online diagnosis by a genetic counselor and follows by consultations with geneticists and genetic testing.

FDNA icon

Accuracy & Precision

Advanced artificial intelligence (AI) capabilities and technology with a 90% accuracy rate for a more accurate genetic analysis.

FDNA icon

Value for
Money

Faster access to genetic counselors, geneticists, genetic testing, and a diagnosis. As fast as within 24 hours if required. Save time and money.

FDNA icon

Privacy & Security

We guarantee the utmost protection of all images and patient information. Your data is always safe, secure, and encrypted.

FDNA Telehealth can bring you closer to a diagnosis.
Schedule an online genetic counseling meeting within 72 hours!